Goldman Sachs 1MDB FCPA resolution (2020)
- Resolution type
- DPA for the parent, guilty plea for the Malaysian subsidiary, SEC cease-and-desist order, Federal Reserve fine 1,2 3
- Court
- Eastern District of New York, assigned to Judge Margo K. Brodie 1
- Total amount
- More than US$2.9 billion, with over US$1.6 billion in payments to other authorities credited by DOJ 1
- SEC
- US$400 million civil penalty and US$606.3 million disgorgement, partly satisfied by payments to Malaysia and 1MDB 2
- Federal Reserve
- US$154 million fine 3
- Statute
- FCPA anti-bribery provisions (DOJ), plus FCPA books and records and internal accounting controls provisions (SEC) 1,2
- Admission
- DOJ states "Goldman admitted" facts of the scheme. The Malaysian unit pleaded guilty 1
What DOJ charged
DOJ announced the resolution on 22 October 2020 1. The Goldman Sachs Group Inc. entered a DPA in connection with a criminal information filed in the Eastern District of New York 1. Goldman Sachs (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. pleaded guilty in the same court to a one-count criminal information 1. The charge was conspiracy to violate the anti-bribery provisions of the FCPA 1.
DOJ said Goldman acted as underwriter on three bond deals for 1Malaysia Development Bhd. (1MDB) with a total value of about US$6.5 billion 1. DOJ said the co-conspirators allegedly paid bribes using more than US$2.7 billion in funds diverted from the bond offerings 1. It said more than US$1.6 billion in bribes went to Malaysian, 1MDB, IPIC and Aabar officials 1. DOJ said Goldman received about US$606 million in fees and revenue 1.
What Goldman admitted
The DOJ release introduces the admitted facts with the words "Goldman admitted today that, in order to effectuate the scheme" 1. It says Goldman admitted that its control functions "did not take reasonable steps" to keep a person the release names as Low out of the deals 1. A DOJ official is quoted saying the resolution "requires Goldman Sachs to admit wrongdoing" 1.
The guilty plea by the Malaysian subsidiary is a criminal conviction of that entity 1. The parent's DPA defers prosecution of the parent on the filed information 1.
Amounts and credit
DOJ said: "Goldman will pay a criminal penalty and disgorgement of over $2.9 billion" 1. DOJ said it would "credit over $1.6 billion in payments" made under parallel resolutions 1. Goldman reached separate resolutions with authorities in the United Kingdom, Singapore and Malaysia, according to DOJ 1. The DOJ release does not give the amount paid to each foreign authority 1.
DOJ gave Goldman partial cooperation credit 1. DOJ said Goldman did not receive full credit, as it "significantly delayed producing relevant evidence" 1. DOJ said the penalty reflected a 10 percent reduction off the bottom of the applicable US Sentencing Guidelines fine range 1.
The SEC and Federal Reserve actions
The SEC found violations of the anti-bribery, internal accounting controls and books and records provisions of the federal securities laws 2. Goldman agreed to a cease-and-desist order, a US$400 million civil penalty and US$606.3 million in disgorgement 2. The SEC said the disgorgement was satisfied in part by amounts Goldman paid to the Government of Malaysia and 1MDB 2. The SEC release does not state whether Goldman admitted or denied the SEC findings 2.
The Federal Reserve Board fined Goldman US$154 million on 22 October 2020 3. It found that "Goldman's transaction approval processes and internal controls failed to detect or prevent the scheme" 3. The Board required Goldman to improve oversight and due diligence of complex transactions and its anti-bribery compliance program 3.
Individuals and status
DOJ said Tim Leissner, former Southeast Asia Chairman, pleaded guilty to conspiring to launder money and violate the FCPA 1. Former managing director Ng Chong Hwa, known as Roger Ng, was charged with the same conspiracies 1. DOJ said the charges against him were allegations and he was presumed innocent, with trial then set for March 2021 1.
The DOJ release does not state the DPA term 1. This page does not report how the DPA ended, as no primary court or DOJ record of that step was reached.
Common questions
Did Goldman Sachs plead guilty over 1MDB?
Its Malaysian subsidiary pleaded guilty 1. The parent company entered a deferred prosecution agreement and, per DOJ, admitted facts of the scheme 1.
How much did Goldman pay?
DOJ said more than US$2.9 billion in a coordinated resolution, crediting over US$1.6 billion paid to other authorities 1.
What did the SEC order?
A US$400 million penalty and US$606.3 million in disgorgement 2.
How much money was diverted from 1MDB?
DOJ said more than US$2.7 billion in funds from the bond offerings was used to pay bribes or otherwise diverted 1.
Rules and fees change. Check the official site linked above before you apply or pay. Spotted an error? Email hello@settlementsexplained.org with the official link.
Sources
- U.S. Department of Justice: Goldman Sachs Charged in Foreign Bribery Case and Agrees to Pay Over $2.9 Billion (22 October 2020)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: SEC Charges Goldman Sachs With FCPA Violations, 2020-265 (22 October 2020)
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System: Federal Reserve Board fines Goldman Sachs $154 million over 1MDB (22 October 2020)
Related
- FCPA resolutions explained
How U.S. Foreign Corrupt Practices Act cases end: declinations, NPAs, DPAs, guilty pleas and SEC actions, with the statute, penalties and DOJ policy.
- Deferred and non-prosecution agreements explained
How U.S. deferred prosecution agreements and non-prosecution agreements work for companies, the Justice Manual factors, and what the company admits.
- SEC settlements: neither admit nor deny
What an SEC settlement without admissions means, the 1972 no-deny policy in 17 CFR 202.5(e), and its rescission by the SEC on 18 May 2026.
- Ericsson FCPA resolution (2019) and 2023 guilty plea
Ericsson agreed to pay over US$1 billion in a 2019 FCPA resolution, then pleaded guilty in 2023 after DOJ found it breached the DPA. Terms and dates.